TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old Today, 08:09 PM   #1411
Hickoryw
Registered User
 
Hickoryw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 33
Tried wd5741 just to be sure and when run it said it wasn't needed on my drive.

Hickoryw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:19 PM   #1412
jmbach
der Neuerer
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,431
If you get the image from ggieseke, it may have to be updated before it will boot on a 4TB drive. My suggestion would be to use DvrBARS to put the image on any good drive that is less than or equal to 2TB and boot it in the TiVo. Force a few connects to the TiVo servers to get it to download and install the update. Once the image is updated, use MFSTools 3.2 to copy and expand the image to the 4TB drive. The JMFS method will only add 2TB of recording space to the original image.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:21 PM   #1413
jmbach
der Neuerer
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,431
Did you run WD diagnostic on the drive and did it have any errors?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:36 PM   #1414
Hickoryw
Registered User
 
Hickoryw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 33
My new drive is only 1 Tb...

Ran wd data lifeduard on both. The new drive passed both quick and extended, while the 320 Gb original tivo drive passed the quick test the first time then failed to complete the extended test saying it had a read element error. Then i reran the quick test a second time and it failed with the same error as the extended test. Not sure which drive you were asking about, but the new one seems fine.

Hickoryw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:58 PM   #1415
jmbach
der Neuerer
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,431
Was inquiring about the original one.

With a 1TB drive, you should not have a problem with any method of expansion.

__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.
Page generated in 0.12869501 seconds (40.00% PHP - 60.00% MySQL) with 19 queries