TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2015, 07:59 PM   #5101
rob4crib
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by armooo View Post
pyTivo lets you stream most videos from your PC to your unhacked TiVo. It uses the HMO server protocol, so no hacking of the TiVo is required.

* It will guess if your video is 4:3 or 16:9 and pad your video if it thinks it is needed (looked good on my tests).
* It will not transcode an mpeg that is supported by your TiVo.
* It will stream TiVo recordings (.tivo).

http://pytivo.armooo.net/

* Master changes
* Subfolder changes
For file conversion I use PAVTUBE, it converts tivo to almost anything
http://www.multipelife.com/free-vide...erter-ultimate

I also use PLEX MEDIA SERVER https://plex.tv/ (I'm guessing the same thing as tivo stream) then stream them to my ipad/phone with anyplace that has a wifi connection or you can use data. The streaming server is free but if you want to physically transfer them onto your portable devices it's like $5.00 month or $150.00 lifetime subscription and the App is $5.00. It works with roku also.

Anybody know of a free commercial editing software? Videoredo works great but I'm just to cheap to spend the money

rob4crib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 07:11 AM   #5102
bmille05
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 15
I've been trying to find the latest version for the Mac and am going in URL circles. Could someone please post the url for the latest download version for the Mac? The version I have converts everything to a lower resolution than the original version being copied to the Tivo DVR. Thank you in advance!

bmille05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 07:38 AM   #5103
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmille05 View Post
I've been trying to find the latest version for the Mac and am going in URL circles. Could someone please post the url for the latest download version for the Mac? The version I have converts everything to a lower resolution than the original version being copied to the Tivo DVR. Thank you in advance!
Cut and pasted from wmcbrine's signature line (the author):

http://wmcbrine.com/tivo/

__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 10:15 PM   #5104
Regardie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcthorne View Post
Hit the link in my sig for pytivo setup help on windows.
The problem with being a long time lurker is this:

Quote:
Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 7 posts.
So this post will help me get over the incredibly small bar that has been set that I have never cleared.

Regardie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 08:13 AM   #5105
jcthorne
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regardie View Post
The problem with being a long time lurker is this:



So this post will help me get over the incredibly small bar that has been set that I have never cleared.
http://pytivo.sourceforge.net/wiki/i...Install#pyTivo

__________________
Current : Roamio Base with 2TB drive and 2 Premieres and a mini. OTA. kmttg, pyTivo, running with a 78TB Synology 1511 NAS....serving up the world.

Setup help for pytivo under windows:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jcthorne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 08:08 AM   #5106
BankZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 188
My pyTivo shares are not showing under My Shows anymore. Did the last tivo update break anything for the TiVo Elite?

BankZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 10:32 AM   #5107
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by BankZ View Post
My pyTivo shares are not showing under My Shows anymore. Did the last tivo update break anything for the TiVo Elite?
No. Did you try restarting pyTivo? It's not unusual for a TiVo to lose track of pyTivo shares after the TiVo restarts (which it does on an update).

As I've said before, the whole system of announcing shares is just kind of flaky. I think I've done what I can to improve it on the pyTivo side, without being able to get into the guts of the TiVo side. At this point, I expect it to remain kind of flaky. Run a clean, solid network, and keep wifi out of the chain between the TiVo and the server, if possible. Restart TiVos and pyTivo when needed.* That's all the advice I've got for you.

* If you restart a TiVo, then you probably should restart pyTivo afterwards, just in general. However, I wouldn't jump to restarting the TiVo right away -- try restarting pyTivo first.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 11:44 AM   #5108
BankZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
No. Did you try restarting pyTivo? It's not unusual for a TiVo to lose track of pyTivo shares after the TiVo restarts (which it does on an update).

As I've said before, the whole system of announcing shares is just kind of flaky. I think I've done what I can to improve it on the pyTivo side, without being able to get into the guts of the TiVo side. At this point, I expect it to remain kind of flaky. Run a clean, solid network, and keep wifi out of the chain between the TiVo and the server, if possible. Restart TiVos and pyTivo when needed.* That's all the advice I've got for you.

* If you restart a TiVo, then you probably should restart pyTivo afterwards, just in general. However, I wouldn't jump to restarting the TiVo right away -- try restarting pyTivo first.
I am running pytivo in freenas (which is a great setup). I got it working again by using the beacon setting in the config.

BankZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 03:00 PM   #5109
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,305
BTW, if fiddling with the beacon keyword works for you, that generally means there's something wrong with your network. Its real, intended use rarely comes up.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2015, 02:27 PM   #5110
synch22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 330
I have some older x.264 mkv files that i transferred a while ago that work just fine. Lately i have been tryng to transfer them and it fails, it shows up in my shows as transferred but there is no content it just fails from the start.

I transfer the mp4 version of the same file and it works just fine (in the description) it shows error h264 file etc like the other one but works.

I am not sure whats going on any fix to this?

I also dont see any push or stream options like I did before owning the roamio, only transfer.

Using Pytivo from my Mac. Thanks

synch22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 02:17 AM   #5111
Alf Tanner
Tivo Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: At least a mile high
Posts: 73
Still trying to figure out pytivo. I'm comfortable with Python and also with editing config files to start a server. I'm getting an error and have to start pytivo manually to get it to see my tivos, even though it says the service is started in services.msc Here's the only error I could find in the pytivo console:
Code:
INFO:pyTivo:pyTivo is ready.
Unhandled exception in thread started by <function server at 0x0000000003001D68>

ERROR:pyTivo:Exception in pyTivo
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\ME\Desktop\kmttg\pytivo-master\beacon.py", line 203, in ser
ver
    TCPSock.bind(('', 2190))
  File "C:\Python27\lib\socket.py", line 224, in meth
    return getattr(self._sock,name)(*args)
error: [Errno 10048] Only one usage of each socket address (protocol/network add
ress/port) is normally permitted
INFO:pyTivo:192.168.1.76 [29/Mar/2015 00:58:48] "GET /TiVoConnect?Command=QueryC
ontainer&Container=%2F&DoGenres=1 HTTP/1.0" 200 -
INFO:pyTivo:192.168.1.77 [29/Mar/2015 00:58:48] "GET /TiVoConnect?Command=QueryC
ontainer&Container=%2F&DoGenres=1 HTTP/1.0" 200 -
INFO:pyTivo:192.168.1.75 [29/Mar/2015 00:58:48] "GET /TiVoConnect?Command=QueryC
ontainer&Container=%2F&DoGenres=1 HTTP/1.0" 200 -
INFO:pyTivo:192.168.1.78 [29/Mar/2015 00:58:48] "GET /TiVoConnect?Command=QueryC
ontainer&Container=%2F&DoGenres=1 HTTP/1.0" 200 -
INFO:pyTivo:192.168.1.75 [29/Mar/2015 00:58:48] "GET /TiVoConnect?Command=QueryC
ontainer&Container=%2F&DoGenres=1 HTTP/1.0" 200 -
INFO:pyTivo:192.168.1.78 [29/Mar/2015 00:58:48] "GET /TiVoConnect?Command=QueryC
ontainer&Container=%2F&DoGenres=1 HTTP/1.0" 200 -
INFO:pyTivo:192.168.1.77 [29/Mar/2015 00:58:48] "GET /TiVoConnect?Command=QueryC
ontainer&Container=%2F&DoGenres=1 HTTP/1.0" 200 -
using:
python 2.79
the suggested beginner branch of pytivo
pywin 219 for python 2.7

__________________
Current: Roamio Pro, Roamio basic and 2 Tivo Minis
Former: Ceton inifitiv 4 on WMC, which was a disaster

Last edited by Alf Tanner; 03-29-2015 at 02:26 AM..
Alf Tanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 06:05 AM   #5112
wmcbrine
Resistance Useless
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 9,305
I'd take "beacon: listen" out of your pyTivo.conf. It's unlikely to be helpful, and in this case, something else (TiVo Desktop? another instance of pyTivo?) has already grabbed port 2190. That's the error message... your actual problem is another matter. Since you talk about running it at startup, but say this is the console output (from "starting it manually", I presume), we'd want to see the log from the startup instance, not this. And the pyTivo.conf.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 12:07 PM   #5113
Alf Tanner
Tivo Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: At least a mile high
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
I'd take "beacon: listen" out of your pyTivo.conf. It's unlikely to be helpful, and in this case, something else (TiVo Desktop? another instance of pyTivo?) has already grabbed port 2190. That's the error message... your actual problem is another matter. Since you talk about running it at startup, but say this is the console output (from "starting it manually", I presume), we'd want to see the log from the startup instance, not this. And the pyTivo.conf.

Thank you for getting back to me. I didnt even think about Tivo desktop using that port, but I do have the $$$ version of that functionally worthless program from the time before I discovered kmttg and pytivo. Where would the log from starting the service be located?

No binding errors after disabling those.

I just checked services.msc and tivo beacon was set to auto start.

Tivo notify, tivo transfer and tivo server were all set to start as well. I disabled all of them either via startup or via services for beacon.

pytivo started without issue after disabling tivo beacon service and setting it not to auto start

__________________
Current: Roamio Pro, Roamio basic and 2 Tivo Minis
Former: Ceton inifitiv 4 on WMC, which was a disaster

Last edited by Alf Tanner; 03-29-2015 at 12:14 PM..
Alf Tanner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 AM.
Page generated in 0.08634210 seconds (60.92% PHP - 39.08% MySQL) with 19 queries