TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2015, 10:39 PM   #10171
jmbach
der Neuerer
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,270
Which version of MFSTools did you use?

__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 06:57 AM   #10172
andrewperrin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7
MFSLive v. 1.4

andrewperrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 09:33 AM   #10173
jmbach
der Neuerer
 
jmbach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,270
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewperrin View Post
MFSLive v. 1.4

Download and MFSTools 3.2 and try the same thing.

__________________
"Delay is preferable to error" - Thomas Jefferson
"If I have seen further it is by standing on the shoulders of Giants" - Sir Isaac Newton
jmbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 04:18 PM   #10174
unclehonkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
so I want to upgrade the HD in my Tivo HD. My stock drive took a dump so I found an old 320GB drive that works. Will this drive work in the HD?

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-mains...&skuId=9312067

unclehonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 05:17 PM   #10175
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,038
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
so I want to upgrade the HD in my Tivo HD. My stock drive took a dump so I found an old 320GB drive that works. Will this drive work in the HD?

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/wd-mains...&skuId=9312067
Its a 7200 RPM drive which creates more heat and draws more power than the Tivo can provide. Its also not meant for DVR use.

Look for a Green -AV drive, ending in EURS, EURX, EFRX (Red drive works.)

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 11-01-2015, 06:36 PM   #10176
unclehonkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
Its a 7200 RPM drive which creates more heat and draws more power than the Tivo can provide. Its also not meant for DVR use.
thanks for info..took it back to BB a little bit ago

Quote:
Look for a Green -AV drive, ending in EURS, EURX, EFRX (Red drive works.)
The EZRX ones wont work?
Found a 1TB on amazon for under $50
http://www.amazon.com/Green-1TB-Desk...words=wd10eurx

unclehonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 08:03 PM   #10177
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,038
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
thanks for info..took it back to BB a little bit ago



The EZRX ones wont work?
Found a 1TB on amazon for under $50
http://www.amazon.com/Green-1TB-Desk...words=wd10eurx
It may work, but its just a Green drive not AV. You would have to fuss with the Intellipark with WDIdle3.exe.

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks For This Post:
Old 11-01-2015, 08:35 PM   #10178
unclehonkey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThAbtO View Post
It may work, but its just a Green drive not AV. You would have to fuss with the Intellipark with WDIdle3.exe.
OK good to know
I found a 1TB drive that is a AV-GP one that should work. Now to debate if I need the 1TB or 2TB
(its used for OTA only)

unclehonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2015, 11:13 PM   #10179
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,038
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by unclehonkey View Post
OK good to know
I found a 1TB drive that is a AV-GP one that should work. Now to debate if I need the 1TB or 2TB
(its used for OTA only)
Max it to 2TB

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 10:11 PM   #10180
Nomidlname
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
I have read everything on here. I have a Tivo Series 3 HDXL TCD658000. I downloaded WINMFS 9.3 and extracted it. I purchased a WD20EURX from Amazon direct. I connected the two drives and was going to direct copy. The WINMFS (running as admin) saw the TIVO drive so I backed up all the files but it would not see the new drive. I went to windows management (windows 7) and the PC could not see the drive. It does however see it in the bios upon bootup. I tried to download WinDlg_v1_29 and installed it but it crashes each time I try to start it (running as admin or not). So, I guess my new drive is bad or is there some trick to get the PC to see it? I did not mount the drive, just went to see if I could see it anywhere other than the bios.


Last edited by Nomidlname; 12-21-2015 at 10:14 PM. Reason: additonal info
Nomidlname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 08:23 AM   #10181
HerronScott
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Staunton, VA
Posts: 2,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomidlname View Post
I have read everything on here. I have a Tivo Series 3 HDXL TCD658000. I downloaded WINMFS 9.3 and extracted it. I purchased a WD20EURX from Amazon direct. I connected the two drives and was going to direct copy. The WINMFS (running as admin) saw the TIVO drive so I backed up all the files but it would not see the new drive. I went to windows management (windows 7) and the PC could not see the drive. It does however see it in the bios upon bootup. I tried to download WinDlg_v1_29 and installed it but it crashes each time I try to start it (running as admin or not). So, I guess my new drive is bad or is there some trick to get the PC to see it? I did not mount the drive, just went to see if I could see it anywhere other than the bios.
Others have reported issues with the new WD20EURX not being recognized by some PC's and by TiVo's.

http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=535282

Sounds like some change on the hard drive side (firmware?).

Scott

__________________

Roamio Pro - 3TB - All-in
S3 HD - 2TB - Lifetime (son's)
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S3 OLED - 2TB - Lifetime
S1 Phillips - 120GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
S1 Sony - 30GB - Lifetime trnsfrd to S3
HerronScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 09:15 AM   #10182
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 15,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomidlname View Post
I have read everything on here. I have a Tivo Series 3 HDXL TCD658000. I downloaded WINMFS 9.3 and extracted it. I purchased a WD20EURX from Amazon direct. I connected the two drives and was going to direct copy. The WINMFS (running as admin) saw the TIVO drive so I backed up all the files but it would not see the new drive. I went to windows management (windows 7) and the PC could not see the drive. It does however see it in the bios upon bootup. I tried to download WinDlg_v1_29 and installed it but it crashes each time I try to start it (running as admin or not). So, I guess my new drive is bad or is there some trick to get the PC to see it? I did not mount the drive, just went to see if I could see it anywhere other than the bios.
If you had a copy of the Ultimate Boot CD and booted from that, you'd probably find that you could run the DOS based version of the Western Digital diagnostic software and the drive would pass with flying colors.

As I did just recently on a couple of those drives.

But I couldn't get Windows or WinDig or WinMFS to see the drives.

Even though I used that same PC back in June of 2014 to set up a WD20EURX for an S3 with WinMFS with no problem.

Further, I used the jmfs cd, v1.04, which I had used once before on a TCD652160 drive, and copied the original drive to one of those new WDs and expanded, and it seemed to work.

But once I put it in the TiVo, it can't see the drive, either.

newegg's gonna give me my money back, eventually, but I'm still stuck trying to figure out a substitute drive to use.

Having had about 5 Seagate 2TB drives go bad one after the other like dominoes falling recently I know what I won't be using, but otherwise not sure.

Whatever it is, it'll have been on sale somewhere between Black Friday and Christmas, but almost certainly won't be when I go to buy.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 02:05 PM   #10183
Ratamacue
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 15
I've got a 652160 box that I'd like to upgrade. It's currently got a 1 TB drive that I used Instant Cake on when the (ridiculously expensive) DVR expander drive enclosure failed a few years ago. Has anyone heard of problems using WinMFS with the WD Red WD20EFRX drives on a Windows 10 machine?

__________________
"If not for Venetian blinds, it would be curtains for us all."
Ratamacue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 02:28 PM   #10184
Nomidlname
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
I went ahead and sent the hard drive back and am getting a replacement from Amazon.com. they ran out of stock so the one I get I assume will be brand spanking new. I will let you all know what the deal is when I get the new one.

Nomidlname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 02:46 PM   #10185
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 7,089
I know someone recently had a problem with some drives that appeared to be caused by the power and data connectors not being aligned with one another so that neither a dock nor the combined connector in a TiVo could make a proper connection.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 03:11 PM   #10186
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 15,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
I know someone recently had a problem with some drives that appeared to be caused by the power and data connectors not being aligned with one another so that neither a dock nor the combined connector in a TiVo could make a proper connection.
Do you mean the power and data connectors that are part of the drive itself didn't adhere closely enough to what I assume is the industry standard for size and spacing and stuff?


Boy, that would be a fun one to hunt down.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 03:21 PM   #10187
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 7,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Do you mean the power and data connectors that are part of the drive itself didn't adhere closely enough to what I assume is the industry standard for size and spacing and stuff?


Boy, that would be a fun one to hunt down.
He posted pictures. It wasn't size or spacing, it was the fact that one of the connectors was slightly farther from the edgeof the drive so that when a combined connector hit the stop, it wasn't fully connected. At least that's what it looked like to me.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 08:50 PM   #10188
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 15,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
He posted pictures. It wasn't size or spacing, it was the fact that one of the connectors was slightly farther from the edgeof the drive so that when a combined connector hit the stop, it wasn't fully connected. At least that's what it looked like to me.
Time to get out the lighted magnifier.


Where's the shoulders slumped, exhausted sigh smiley when you need it?

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 09:13 PM   #10189
lpwcomp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: John's Creek, Georgia
Posts: 7,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by unitron View Post
Time to get out the lighted magnifier.


Where's the shoulders slumped, exhausted sigh smiley when you need it?
One other indicator. It worked fine when connected internally to his computer, where the power and data cables are separate.

__________________
James L. Sutherland
"You know TiVo users. Bunch of b****y little girls" TiVoAxe

"Jessica Fletcher visits Midsomer. Carnage ensues!"
lpwcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 09:15 PM   #10190
dougdingle
HD Tech
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
He posted pictures. It wasn't size or spacing, it was the fact that one of the connectors was slightly farther from the edgeof the drive so that when a combined connector hit the stop, it wasn't fully connected. At least that's what it looked like to me.
Easy enough to "break apart" the TiVo connector without actually damaging anything.

First, get a SATA power extension like this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/OKgear-SATA-...AAAMXQdGJR0Fmv

Use that between the TiVo connector and drive.

Then use something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Short-SATA-7...4AAOxyW7tRiHqB

to extend the data connection from the TiVo connector to the drive.

dougdingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2015, 04:58 PM   #10191
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 15,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by lpwcomp View Post
One other indicator. It worked fine when connected internally to his computer, where the power and data cables are separate.
In my case, where XP, and therefore WinMFS, can't see a WD20EURX, the PC data and power cables are separate, but I'll keep in mind the possibility of a combo plug problem for future hard drive wrangling.

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 06:59 AM   #10192
Jerimiah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
I have been searching everywhere I can think of, but am having zero luck finding Winmfs. The site most people recommend is no longer registered so that is no help. Any clues as where I should go? (I have gone back a number of pages, but dont see a link. Unless I am blind, which IS a possibility.)

Jerimiah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 10:10 PM   #10193
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,038
TC CLUB MEMBER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerimiah View Post
I have been searching everywhere I can think of, but am having zero luck finding Winmfs. The site most people recommend is no longer registered so that is no help. Any clues as where I should go? (I have gone back a number of pages, but dont see a link. Unless I am blind, which IS a possibility.)
WinMFS

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)

~~~~~

The TiVo Apocalypse begins on Sat 2013 Feb 16 00:00 GMT!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2015 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.
Page generated in 0.32627606 seconds (56.69% PHP - 43.31% MySQL) with 19 queries