TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-03-2016, 06:31 AM   #1
atomarchio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 709
Is there way to remotely turn on connected PC with Bolt?

Is there a way to install an app on the Tivo Bolt which would allow me to remotely (over the same home network) turn on my connected computer (HP running W10)?

This would be an incredible feature and wondering if anyone is doing this now.

Please let me know. Thanks.

atomarchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 01:20 PM   #2
Allanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 577
First, the app will need to be hosted on a server, apps are not hosted on the Tivo, the Tivo just act as a client. That being said you could host it on a internet server that way it's always running.

Anyway, most modern computers have wake-on-LAN built in. You send the computer a packet over your LAN that wakes or powers on the computer. I guess you can have a Tivo app send that packet.

Allanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 01:32 PM   #3
wmcbrine
Ziphead
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 10,150
If you host the app outside the LAN, it won't be able to wake a machine inside the LAN. (Well, an HME app couldn't, at least. Maybe an HTML5 app could? They're loaded from outside, but actually run on the TiVo, in a way that HME apps don't.)

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 02:22 PM   #4
atomarchio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 709
I am only looking to do this within my own home network.

If my computer has wake-on-LAN (which I believe it does), what's the easiest way to do this?

atomarchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 04:43 PM   #5
Allanon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomarchio View Post
I am only looking to do this within my own home network.

If my computer has wake-on-LAN (which I believe it does), what's the easiest way to do this?
You will need a computer that is on all the time. If you don't have one then maybe spend $30 and get a Raspberry Pi computer to host your Tivo apps. You will then need to program a Tivo app that sends the wake-on-LAN message.

Allanon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 10:59 PM   #6
gonzotek
tivo_xml developer
 
gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Outside Phildadelphia
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allanon View Post
You will need a computer that is on all the time. If you don't have one then maybe spend $30 and get a Raspberry Pi computer to host your Tivo apps. You will then need to program a Tivo app that sends the wake-on-LAN message.
Yep..HME or html5, the WOL magic packets won't be able to come from the TiVo. You'll need an intermediary machine. I second the suggestion of a Raspberry Pi, but there are plenty of other options too. If you have a NAS device already running in your network, it might even already possess the necessary frameworks you'd need to host an app.

__________________
Follow @pytivo on Twitter for project updates and more!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
A Web app for Roku Remote Control
gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 07:38 PM   #7
atomarchio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 709
Guess I was hoping for easier way to do this.

If I need to use a PC to power on my other PC (with the content) on, it's probably not worth it

atomarchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 08:59 PM   #8
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,519
Some routers have WOL features baked into them (like DD-WRT). Personally, I use Pulseway (it runs on my Linux server and I can use an app on my iPhone to turn on various PCs in the house through it).

__________________
849~Bolt (TA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 840~S5, 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 06:28 AM   #9
atomarchio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 709
Is there a way to access the router and WOL features directly from my Tivo using DD-WRT?

I'd be interested in a new router if there was.

Please let me know. Thanks.

atomarchio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:23 AM   #10
windracer
joined the 10k club
 
windracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 11,519
Theoretically if you had a web browser (Opera? EnterWebz?) on the TiVo you could get into the web interface of your router and kick off the WOL magic packet. Sounds like more trouble than it's worth, though.

__________________
849~Bolt (TA); 848~Roamio Plus (TA, MoCA); 2xA92~Mini
S/old: 840~S5, 748~XL4, 746~S4, 658~HDXL, 648~OLED S3, 565~TX20, 230~S2, 140~S2

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 PM.
Page generated in 0.16297293 seconds (56.72% PHP - 43.28% MySQL) with 18 queries