TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2016, 01:40 AM   #1
nazopo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 43
Tivo Less Likely To Reboot When In Standby Mode During PC Transfer?

Since you can't always have all tuners on a channel you don't receive when transferring a recording, this makes it harder to guarantee a sudden reboot won't happen while transferring a recording via kmttg. I have been experimenting with putting the Tivo in standby mode while transferring recordings to prevent this from happening. I was wondering if anyone was able to find any success with this approach, or if it didn't really make a difference for them with regards to sudden reboots.

To give you some background I have a Tivo HD and it has only rebooted once while transferring a recording via PC at the same time another show was being recorded. The other unused tuner may have been tuned to a channel I receive. I'm not sure though since I wasn't at home at the time. From my experience, a reboot usually only happens for me when a show is being recorded at the same time though. These sudden reboots have also occurred when I was transferring a recording while several other shows were being recorded on my Tivo Premiere XL4 so it's not only prone to Tivo HDs. In order to circumvent this issue on my XL4, I usually only transfer when no other shows are being recorded. That approach does not work as well on the Tivo HD since the transfers are much slower thus it is more difficult to find time to transfer the recordings when no other shows are being recorded simultaneously. I also notice that the transfers are slower on standby while being tuned to channels not received than when the Tivo is merely tuned to channels I don't receive.

nazopo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 06:48 PM   #2
wmcbrine
Ziphead
 
wmcbrine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 10,152
Sudden reboots aren't normal at all.

I'd consider putting your TiVo on a UPS just to get cleaner power.

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wmcbrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 08:09 PM   #3
nazopo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine View Post
Sudden reboots aren't normal at all.

I'd consider putting your TiVo on a UPS just to get cleaner power.
I have it on a UPS right now, but in the past I have also had the Tivo XL4 on a UPS(APC BGE70) and while we were watching a film that also happened to be currently transferred via pyTivo, I ordered up the Now Playing List via Tivo Desktop and the box rebooted after about twenty seconds or so of trying to send over the NPL to my PC. I believe that we were recording one or two shows as well at the same time. The point is that while a reboot seems infrequent, I think there can be situations that can produce one given the various simultaneous processes occurring.

nazopo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 12:49 PM   #4
unitron
Registered User
 
unitron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: semi-coastal NC
Posts: 16,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by nazopo View Post
Since you can't always have all tuners on a channel you don't receive when transferring a recording, this makes it harder to guarantee a sudden reboot won't happen while transferring a recording via kmttg. I have been experimenting with putting the Tivo in standby mode while transferring recordings to prevent this from happening. I was wondering if anyone was able to find any success with this approach, or if it didn't really make a difference for them with regards to sudden reboots.

To give you some background I have a Tivo HD and it has only rebooted once while transferring a recording via PC at the same time another show was being recorded. The other unused tuner may have been tuned to a channel I receive. I'm not sure though since I wasn't at home at the time. From my experience, a reboot usually only happens for me when a show is being recorded at the same time though. These sudden reboots have also occurred when I was transferring a recording while several other shows were being recorded on my Tivo Premiere XL4 so it's not only prone to Tivo HDs. In order to circumvent this issue on my XL4, I usually only transfer when no other shows are being recorded. That approach does not work as well on the Tivo HD since the transfers are much slower thus it is more difficult to find time to transfer the recordings when no other shows are being recorded simultaneously. I also notice that the transfers are slower on standby while being tuned to channels not received than when the Tivo is merely tuned to channels I don't receive.

Have you ever replaced the capacitors in the HD's power supply?

__________________
(thisismysigfile)


"I am altering the deal. Pray I don't alter it any further."

Darth TiVo, 14 February, 2011
unitron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.
Page generated in 0.13224697 seconds (45.77% PHP - 54.23% MySQL) with 18 queries