TiVo Community
TiVo Community
TiVo Community
Go Back   TiVo Community > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground
TiVo Community
Reply
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2016, 01:17 PM   #1
rgreenpc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 61
Extract shows off TiVo with meta data and move to plex server.

I am lucky enough to not have copy protection on any of my channels except HBO.

I would like to (as the title suggests) move my shows (if possible remove commercials) and inject them to my plex server so I can go to Apple Tvs around the house.

What combo of software would easily do this? PyTivo?


Last edited by rgreenpc; 07-22-2016 at 04:25 PM.
rgreenpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 05:44 PM   #2
ThAbtO
TiVoholic by the bay
 
ThAbtO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 6,470
You can transfer to/from the Tivo and PC the shows that are not copy-protected. Tivo Desktop (no longer supported), PyTivo, KMTTG, Archivo (to name most, if all) do transfer from Tivo. The video is encrypted by the Tivo and can be decrypted (decoded) with programs such as TivoDecode, then they are just MPEG2 video with AC3 audio.

__________________
Original S1 (Recycle Heaven)
Series 2 (PLS, sold)
TiVo HD (XL, PLS, "652")
Juliet Basic (4XL, PLS)
(OTA)

~~~~~

No Amazon Prime? Join
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to start streaming on Roamio/Bolt!
ThAbtO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 06:29 PM   #3
rgreenpc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 61
Thanks for that...

I downloaded KMTTG I just need to find a way to automate it and a way o make sure its properly named and imported.

rgreenpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2016, 11:31 AM   #4
mvribaudo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1
Set up your kmttg auto configure section to automatically download and decrypt your shows to a folder that Plex will scan. The shows will be automatically added to your Plex server.

This is the syntax I use to save the shows in the proper "Plex" format:
[mainTitle] [/]Season [season][/] [mainTitle] - [SeriesEpNumber] - [episodeTitle]

Works like a champ.

mvribaudo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2016, 11:40 AM   #5
Wil
Senile Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgreenpc View Post
not have copy protection on any of my channels except HBO.
Do you like HBO? Do you have a Tivo s3 or model HD?

Wil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump







Thread Tools


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Advertisements





TiVo Community
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media


(C) 2016 DBNet - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not owned or operated by TiVo Inc.
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36 AM.
Page generated in 0.12327099 seconds (48.12% PHP - 51.88% MySQL) with 18 queries